标签

徐顺全博士于2016年5月4日群众大会讲话

五一群众大会             index

 

晚安,朋友们!我们又再见面了。谢谢各位到来出席我们的群众大会。

经过一场艰苦的运动后,今晚是最后一晚的群众大会了。我在武吉巴督已经很久了。我已经把武吉巴督是视为自己的第二个家。在晨曦尚未显露时,我已经在这儿了。我拜访了您们的家,和您们一起喝咖啡拉家常。我骑着自行车从一座组屋到另一座组屋一直到晚上。

我向您们之间发出的唯一信息就是:假设您们在这次补选投票给民主党,您们将获得的是一个双赢的局面。

为什么这样说呢?

首先,因为我已经向您们承诺,我的首要任务是有效地、高效率地管理好市镇会。其次是,您们将会拥有一个为影响您们及您们的家庭所面对的问题而发声的国会议员。

为了展现我们的承诺和管理市镇会的能力,我们已经集合一个小组确保从行动党手中顺利、有效的接管市镇会。

这个小组的成员包括了资深有经验的专业人士,如会计师和金融理财专家Mr Wong Hong Koon。他曾经在吴作栋和陈清木医生的公民委员会和居民委员会工作过。

接着就Mr Yeo Yeu Yong。他是您们刚刚听到的一位在处理市镇会事务拥有特别经验的人。在过去年代,他参与了行动党市镇会的工作。

他在管理市镇会的知识方面具有很多令人吃惊的想法。我将会借助于他进行市镇会的交接工作,过后,发展维修保养武吉巴督市镇会。

我也邀请前律师公会主席Mr Peter Cuthbert Low加入了我们的市镇会管理层。他将协助我们全面负责有关市镇会移交过程中的所有涉及法律的问题。

最后是Mr K Siva,一家贸易公司的经理,他具有广泛的采购物料和处理工程合约的知识。他将确保各项工程,包括了确保在建工程和延续的工程产生最大限度地效率。

我们在分发给您们的传单里也告诉了您们,我们在接管行动党市镇会后的第100天工作目标。我们这么做是要让您们可以监督我们有没有兑现我们所做出的诺言、表现和负责任的情况。假设我们没有信心展现自己的管理能力和出色的表现的话。这是没有一个政党可以做的到这一点的。

我们之所以这么做,那是因为您们当中一些人非常关心有关组屋翻新工程。正如我所说的,在接管市镇会时,我和我的小组成员将会关注那些在建的房屋改进计划,确保工程继续顺利的进行。

我们将会与城市重建局、建屋发展局和其他相关的政府部门一道,由前国会议员王金发先生所拟出的计划,特别是要关注建造一个小贩熟食中心、年长者护理中心和儿童护理中心的计划。

与此同时,武吉巴督管理市镇会将由我们自己管理。我们不会浪费钱去聘请市镇会管理公司来代管。市镇会管理公司是属于商业性质的。他们不能不赚钱来管理我们的市镇会,支付给他们的管理费并不便宜。

他们的管理费利润是来自您们每月缴交的市镇会管理杂费,这是您们辛苦赚来的血汗钱。现在请您们自问:为什么您们要选一名国会议员,每月支付他1万6千元薪金,然后他们又向您们收取市镇会管理费来管理您们的市镇会?

我们不需要以聘请市镇会管理公司来管理市镇会的方式管理。这笔剩下的费用,我们将归还给您们。

为了要实现这个目标,国会议员在市镇会里就必须全是职和负责行政管理,而不是坐在珊敦道遥控。这就是我与默仁里先生最大的不同之处。

行动党告诉您们,假设默仁里获选,武吉巴督是归入裕廊-金文泰市镇会,届时您们将享受到广泛的利益。或许吧。但是,您们将无法节省没有聘请市镇会管理公司的钱。

假设我获选成为国会议员,我们不但拟定管理和实施市镇会实施特别和详细的计划,同时,我们将会提出一套实施社会发展计划。

这个计划包括了诸多协助老年人获得更加有素质的生活。我们在一个星期前开始在武吉巴督进行竞选运动时,我们看到了一些老年人和低收入家庭的生活,我们感到很失望。我们的心系武吉巴督计划将会给予这些人很好的照顾。

我们的心系武吉巴督计划的目标是锁定在老年人和穷人。我们的《青年开创者》计划(Pathfinder programme)是专为武吉巴督发展孩子和年轻人而制定的。

我们要为学生提供一个地方,让他们可以集聚在一块儿找到可以引导和有助于培养他们的创造力以及开发他们的兴趣与潜能的导师。我们将向收入家庭提供家教补习津贴。

我们的第三个计划是《理财计划》。这是因为我们预见在经济氛围不明朗化的情况下,居民将会发现自己在经济上需要寻求更多咨询指导的帮助。

最后,我将提供法律协助给予那些需要法律咨询指导,但是有没有能力支付律师费用的人。

同样的,正如您们看到的,假设有效的实施这些计划,并确保这些计划能够让居民获得受益,那就需要一个全职的国会议员。

在经过6个星期在武吉巴督进行的补选运动后,我现在已经比起以前更加确定了。我更加了解武吉巴督您们所关心和担忧的是那些问题。因此,绝对不可能有一个兼职的国会议员的。

在(行动党)接见选民期间许多居民都不去见国会议员。那是因为他们必须在哪儿等上一到两个小时才可以见到国会议员。即便是见到国会议员,他怎能在数分钟了解您们的情况?

我们知道这些问题的情况是,当我们早上在咖啡店与居民聊天时获悉的。这些人来自家庭主妇、退休人士、被裁退的人士等等。我们必须到这些人当中,花时间去了解和聆听——不仅仅是聆听——而是真正是听取这些人到底在想什么?只有在这样的情况下,我们才真正看到他们在想什么,然后才有可能代表他们在国会里发言。

现在,你想,如果一名国会议员在其他有自己的全职工作,每个星期在选区里只花几个钟头就能够做到这些吗?

更加糟糕的情况是,这些国会议员聘请了一些与政府关联的公司的董事代为处理区里居民的这些事。他们支付更多的董事费用给这些人。这些人从而替代了国会议员应花的的时间和工作。

我们习惯了行动党做事的方式了。我们开始思考,这是不是我们所要的规范模式?难道没有其他更好的模式处理问题吗?

我在这里告诉您们,这不是事实。作为一位国会议员,我们必须制定新的标准模式处理问题!一个与行动党完全不同的标准模式。国会议员不可以一味着重在赚钱,而是应该把时间花在要如何改善自己选区的情况和满足选民的需求。

这有一个全职的国会议员才能够做到。我将不会把《接见选民》的时间限定在一个星期一天。我在此告诉您们,假设我获选进入国会,我《接见选民》的次数将每个星期超过一次。这样将会缩短选民等候的时间。同时,让那些无法在晚上无法前来会见的选民在白天与我见面。

总的来说,我向您保证:

  1. 我将把管理市镇会和保持我们社区是全国最好的社区事务首要任务;

  2. 我确保目前在建的翻新工程和安装工程,诸如小贩中心、老年人护理中心和儿童护理中心的工程继续顺利进行;

  3. 我们将不会委任代理公司管理市镇会;

  4. 我们将会实施我们的社会计划,以改善我的居民的生活素质;

  5. 为了达到上述各项要求,我成为一个全职的国会议员。

在上述的问题之上,您们将会有一个在国会里的国会议员为您们发言,并推动行动党认真看待您们的利益。

例如,我将推动有关裁退保险法律。这个法律将协助被裁退的新加坡工人。在经济情况展望越来越不明朗的今天,我们的工人需要获得保护和帮助。当他们的收入停止时,他们的账单还一直不断寄来。这些被裁退的工人需要协助,在日本、南韩、台湾、香港,他们的被裁退的工人是获得保护的。为什么我们的政府就不能保护我们的工人呢?

今天早上,人力部针对我提出的这个问题说,人力部在创造给予本地工人的工作岗位不是100个,而是700个。这正如我所指出的一样。但是,100个工作岗位的数字是人力部长林瑞生先生自己提出的。假设人力部长与人力部无法有一致的数字,那就不可以责怪我了。

好了。现在创造工作岗位是700个,不是100个了。真的吗?你要把当作一个课题吗?让我们分析他们所说的700个工作岗位。在2014年,本地增长的工作岗位是96,000个,在2015年,怎么会增长的工作岗位只是700个呢?这个巨大的落差率是99%!

你还要和我争辩是创造了700个工作岗位,而不是100个工作岗位。我们是不是可以举杯欢庆啊?

尽管你是拿一块经过酱料、蒜蓉和虾酱腌过的腐臭肉给我们,但是,它始终还是一块腐臭的肉。现在他们却要通过新闻却把自己打扮成表面上看去要开始帮助老百姓的好人,

我将要求政府废除公积金最低存款底限计划。这是在扣押我们的公积金储蓄,正如我所说的,在公积金局户头里的钱是我们的钱,政府没有权力扣押我们钱。

与此同时,在新加坡的老年人和穷人,包括类住在武吉巴督的老年人和穷人在内,需要国家更多的援助。我将会向政府施压更加关怀他们。提出一个更加具有同情心的援助预算案。

第四点.行动党政府是疯狂了。他们在不鼓励我们年轻人渴望进入大学教育追求文凭的梦想的同时,却付出了数以亿计的金钱去鼓励和协助外国学生进入我们的大学就读。这是一个我无法理解的政策。我要求政府在国会里给予一个说法。

第五点,正如我在一个群众大会上所说的,新加坡政府投资公司和淡马锡控股不是在透明制度进行管理的。这是一个极其严重的问题。我们必须把这个问题提出来。假设您们把我选进国会,我会要求他们提供财务报表以及向公众公开他们的账目,这样一来可以审核所有的数据是否是正常的。请记住,新加坡政府投资公司所持有的资金和淡马锡控股所管理的资金都是我们的钱——公积金、国家储备金、国家财政盈余等等。

我们提出的这些问题,是因为那些我称呼他们为中产阶层和夹心层的居民越来越被日益高涨的生活费所挤压,我们知道您们当中个人已经无法储蓄了。那是因为您们的开支超过的您们的薪金。

就是基于这个原因新加坡人只能在同一个情况下更加勤快的工作。这并不是经济问题,这其实就是一个社会问题。一份调查报告披露,一名新加坡人说,长时间的工作已经干扰了他们与家人在一起的时间了。这个数据从2009年47%上升到目前的55%。

调查报告指出,离婚者、分居者或者寡居者的新加坡人说,他们的工作时间剥夺了他们与家人一起的时间超过两倍。这是同一个时间内从25%上升到57%.

在新加坡的心理学家说,他们的病患中近90%的因为工作压力造成了他们精神健康的问题。

另一份调查报告指出,在2014年新加坡的工人是亚洲国家最压抑的。

这就是目前我们所看到境况。行动党对自己的利益是照顾得无微不至。但是,他们却把我们利益搁置一旁,让我们在挣扎。他们只知道为自己个人的财富奋斗。

傅海燕,在裕廊集选区的一名部长可以见到她来这里帮默仁里进行补选活动走访选民。她 警告说,假设您们减少部长们的薪金,这只能让造成她和行动党的同事更难留在内阁里面工作 ——这是引用她的原话。假设未来的平衡进一步向部长倾斜,这将让那些有意参政者畏惧。

请大家看看,他们就懂得保护自己薪金,但是 ,一讲到我们的诉求时,他们就告诉我们,政府并不亏欠我们什么!

我们在政治上是要为人民服务的,并不是为自己致富的。假设你已经失去了对人民的感受和自我牺牲的精神,反过来一直在想着自己的价值,或者是否可以自己进行私自创业,这样一来,我们的国家将陷入灭亡的危险。

就我个人而言,政治领袖必须要有自我牺牲的精神。这是极其重要的。当然,我们是不应该支付太低的薪金给予公务员的。因为,这样将导致贪污。但是,如果不断要求除非给自己加薪,否则他们将不会为国家服务,那么,我们是在腐败公共服务精神和自我牺牲精神。

我的选民们,我们要求您们投我一票,那是因为我深信自己可以代表武吉巴督成为一个比默仁里做得更好的国会议员。我说这样话不是因为我们自夸。那是因为这是与我们已经经过多年的培训和发展我们的理想有关系的。即便是行动党现在也是跟随我们的方向。

一个最好的例子。默仁里最近为武吉巴督青年提出的一个学生师徒计划。这是与民主党提出的《青年开创者》计划类似。

我们的《青年开创者》计划是补选活动一开始是就提出的,默仁里的计划是在昨天才提出的。当然,请不要误会,我不是说行动党不可以提出这个计划。

我要是说的是,当谈到管理能力时,特别是在谈论管理好市镇会、或者说为武吉巴督社区计划、或者为协助发展新加坡时,我们民主党并没有跟随在行动党的后面。我们出的点子和能力方面比行动党更好。

事实上,我们已经为武吉巴督率先提出了倡议和计划了。他们的这个师徒计划我们还是感到高兴的。因为行动党认为我们的计划是一个很好的计划,所有他们就跟着我们。

我们目前所做的一切是因为民主党是高瞻远瞩的。我们相信武吉巴督需要一个有能力的领导来管理自己事务。这个补选就是一个最佳的机会选出一个有能力的政党进入国会。

我要在此向您们指出的是,民主党不仅仅是一个有能力的政党,而且是一个负责任的政党。当行动党采取对新加坡人民利益有利的决策时,民主党将不会毫不犹疑地欢迎和支持的。

例如,行动党要在道义社区建造一所老年人护理中心,政府要在屋顶上安装太阳能板,和最近教育部说学生必须参与学校课室和周围地方的清洁工作等等。

民主党公开的支持行动党在这些方面所采取的积极决定。这就说明民主党是一个有能力和建设性的政党的标志。我们反对行动党不利于人民的政策和支持对于人们有利的政策。

民主党不是为反对而反对的政党。当我们反对行动党的政策时,我们也同时提出自己的建议。

例如,正如我在上个群众大会所说的,高昂的地价造成了建屋发展局组屋的商店和办公室租金昂贵的原因,由于这样导致了商店关闭,这也意味着我们的工人被裁员。

但是,我们并没有说到这儿就停下来。我们提出了有关降低成本的看法。在我们提出的住房政策里,提出政府应该推荐非公开市场住房(Non-Open Market flats)。这些预建住房售价不包括地价。

这样一来,就可以立即为青年的购屋者提供一个有能力购买的住房。与此同时,现有建屋局屋主可以在公开市场继续买卖他们的组屋,假设他们不愿意参与这个非公开市场住房计划(Non-Open Market flats)。

我们的建议获得了经济学者的赞赏。

我们提出的建议不仅仅是新加坡的公共住房,同时,我们在医疗保健、教育和经济方面。假设您们到我们的民主党网页浏览,您们将会看到这些建议的全部内容。

为什么我们要这么做呢?因为我们是一个建设性的政党。过去几十年来,行动党一直要把民主党描绘为一个完全非建设性、为反对新加坡而反对新加坡的政党。这是因为当时还没有网际网路和社交媒体的时代。他们一直指责我们是要摧毁新加坡。当然,这是最坏和最邪恶的宣传。

武吉巴督选民们,请您们自问这个问题:在国会里目前行动党有81位国会议员说同样的话,同时在国会里进行投票时都一样投赞成票的情况下,您们为什么要投票选出一个代表您们在国会的国会议员?

默仁里说要代表您们的唯一的理由是,要好好照顾武吉巴督。但是,我们民主党可以做得比他更好的照顾武吉巴督居民和社区。在这一点上,您们可以不必感到忧虑。

对于民主党而言,进入国会最重要的是什么?因为每一次您们选多一个反对党进入国会,行动党就会推行一些对的有利和关心的政策。

换言之,投票给民主党的结果只能是情况越来越好不会越来越糟。

在目前的这个阶段。我同时要告诉您们一件重要的事。在我们结束这场补选运动和冷静日时,我担心行动党将使用他们往常的伎俩。这是一个令人遗憾的事。行动党不遗余力的在进行最令人厌恶的和恶性的肮脏政治伎俩

最坏的情况就是李显龙利用早报头版头条对我进行人身攻击。李显龙还要往下走吗?

但是我无法在冷静日反驳这些指控,主流报章还是可以自由地攻击我,因为它们不受冷静日的法律条文所约束。您们可以肯定的看到,他们将会利用这个机会对我进行个人人身攻击。

例如,他们将会再提起詹时中的问题。是的。莫名其妙。不知道是谁、在什么地方上载了有关事件的帖子,接着,明天报章将会报道它。它们的目的最终就是转向对我个人的攻击。

朋友们,不要掉入他们的圈套。我要求您们成为我的眼睛和耳朵。请告诉您们的朋友和邻居不要相信那些报章,它们是在为协助默仁里的获选而传播有关对我不确实的指责。

您们应该看到我们投入您们家的宣传卡了吧?我们宣传卡里说,现在是时候带着您们梦想、希望和愿望进入国会的时候了。这就是我要说的话了。

我们这么做那是因为我们要进行一场积极的选举运动。我要告诉大家,我们将会为您们而斗争,并建设一个不只是我们在系统中看不见的数字,而是更确切的说是公民的观点很重要的社会。

我要求您们在这次的补选投我一票,这样我们就可以建设一个比过去还要好的武吉巴督。为我们生活在一个更好的居住环境和建设我们自己的未来的梦想和信心。

我奢望希望,但是,不是恐惧。因为希望可以让我们去追求更大和更好的未来。恐惧让我们变得渺小和更加的固步自封。

我要激发创意和创新的本能。行动党残酷的杀害了这一切,因为创意和创新将会让我们成为活泼的人民。

我想进入灵魂深处寻找具有同情心的人们,我知道我们就是如此的。我们不仅仅是要建造一条路和摩天大楼,而同时要建造一条未来人民互相关心桥梁。

这就是我的对新加坡的愿景。我要与您们从武吉巴督这里开始去追求实现。

为此,我向您们保证:您们将会有一个人每天早上起身后就思考着,我要如何把生活逐渐的变得更好了;这个人将会为您们工作;这个人将会把自己的时间让武吉巴督成为全国最好的居住市镇。

我将不会成为另一个在《接见选民》时只是帮您们写一封信,或者在周末与您们握握手。我要成为您们的一份子。

我要成为您们的朋友,成为一个您们可以交心的朋友。这个人将会倾听您们的心声和在倾听中了解您们再思考着什么?这个人不仅仅是为您们在国会里而是在您们之中。让您们感受到我们是在一起。我所想的一切都是与您们在同一个点子上的。

这个人会找您们,他将会一直跟随着在您们的背后。

我就是要成为这样的一位国会议员。假设您们武吉巴督需要这样的武吉巴督市镇——一个受新加坡人羡慕的具有关怀新、充满信心的市镇。请投民主党!请投我一票!

让我们实现这个理想!让武吉巴督实现这个理想!这是时候了!

我经历过漫长道路。我前面的道路还很漫长和艰苦,但是,您们知道吗?我不会为此感到疲惫不堪。我之所以不会感到疲惫不堪,那是因为每一次我在咖啡店、或者地铁站、或者在步行时,我见到您们时给了我希望。您们告诉我们谢谢我为您们发出声音,这一切足于使我感到值得和满足。

这是一场艰苦的选战,但是,武吉巴督已经成为我的一部分了。对我而言,只是一个极其神奇的感觉。当我明天起身时,我不会像过去一个星期一样到这里来。

但是,我感觉到我不是在进行一场竞选活动,我感觉到的是我是了解了武吉巴督社区。您们欢迎我的到来,亲爱的妈妈送给了我蛋糕、大叔请了我喝茶、欢笑的妇女给了我洋参水喝、老奶奶为我买了包热咖啡给我说,“喝了保平安”!

年轻人和大叔?年轻人和大叔有着一点不同的地方。年轻人请我喝虎标啤酒和喜力啤酒的同时,还和我一起发自心里的高呼“我支持你”。

对于一群退休的马来同胞,我要告诉他们的是:我在大牌54与您们一群退休的马来同胞的咖啡店见面,我们进行了一次交心的谈话,我要在此感谢您们接受我到武吉巴督来。那热情和友好的欢迎有如宾至马来社群的感觉。谢谢您们与我的交谈。(Buat sekum-pulan pesara-pesara Melayu yang telah berjumpa de-ngan saya di Block 54 dan juga kepada semua yang telah saya te-mu-ii di kedai kopi Orang Orang, dengan hati yang tulus, saya ingin me-ngu-cap-kan terima kasih kerana sudi me-nerima saya di Bukit Batok. Sikap mesra dan ramah adalah sikap ma-sya-rakat Melayu kita. Ri-buan Terima kasih buat semua.)

我仅此向大家表示感激。

不论在来临的星期六发生什么事。我还是会成为您们的一份子,我的心将会永远在这儿。

请投民主党!这是时候了!

我打从心坎里想武吉巴督人民表示衷心的感激!

 

I have not just run a campaign, I feel that I have come to know a community.

 

Good evening, my friends. It’s good to be with again. Thank you all for coming down.

Tonight is the final night after a gruelling campaign where I’ve been out here so much in Bukit Batok that I’ve practical made it my second home. I’ve been here in the mornings even before the sun rose, visited you in your homes, chatted with you in the kopitiams and cycled from block to block often well into the night.

I had one and only one message that I wanted to put across to you. And that message is: You have a win-win situation if you vote for the SDP in this by-election.

Why do I say that?

Because first, you have my assurance that my top priority will be to manage the Town Council effectively and productively and, second, you will have an MP who will speak up for you on matters that affect you and your family.

To demonstrate to you our commitment and competence on handling your Town Council, we have assembled a Transition Team to ensure a smooth and efficient takeover process from the PAP.

This Team comprises senior and experienced professionals like accountant and financial expert Mr Wong Hong Koon who has worked in CCCs and RCs in Mr Goh Chok Tong’s and Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s constituencies.

Then there is Mr Yeo Yeu Yong whom you’ve just heard who has extensive experience in dealing with Town Council matters because he has been involved with PAP Town Councils for years.

His knowledge of everything that goes into managing the estate is breathtaking. I will be relying on him to help with the transition and thereafter the maintenance of the Bukit Batok estate.

I have also on board the former President of the Law Society Mr Peter Cuthbert Low who will help me to oversee the legal matters pertaining to the takeover.

Finally, Mr K Siva, a manager of a trading company with vast knowledge of procurement and contract processes will be on hand to make sure that the various projects both under way and in the pipeline are handled with maximum efficiency.

We have also put in writing in our flyers to you our goals for the first 100 days as far as the Town Council takeover is concerned. We do this so that you can track our performance and hold us accountable if we fail to deliver on our promises. No party can do this if it is not confident in running a competent and productive outfit.

We do all this because I know that some of you are concerned about the upgrading of your flats. As I have said, upon taking over the Town Council, my team and I will see to it that the on-going Home Improvement Programme already underway continues smoothly.

We will also give our utmost attention to working with the URA, HDB and other authorities to ensure that the plans for a hawker centre, eldercare and childcare centres as laid out by the former MP Mr David Ong proceeds.

In addition, we will run a Town Council without the wasteful services of a managing

agent. Managing agents are businesses and they are out to make a profit and most important they are not cheap.

The profit they make comes from your service and conservancy charges that you pay every month, ie, your hard earned money. Now ask yourself this question: Why are you electing an MP, paying him  $16,000 a month, and then have them collect S & C charges from you to pay a managing agent to run your Town Council?

By doing away with a managing agent we can save substantially on their fees and pass these savings back to you.

But in order to do this the MP must be in the Town Council on a daily basis and administer the office hands-on, not do it my remote control from Shenton Way. This is the crucial difference between Mr Murali and I.

The PAP tells you that the Bukit Batok Town Council will come under the Jurong-Clementi Town Council if you elect Mr Murali and enjoy greater economies of scale. Perhaps. But that cannot match the savings that you are going to get by not engaging a managing agent.

Not only have we made extensive and detailed plans to manage the Town Council, we have also laid out a set of social programmes which we will implement if we are elected.

These include initiatives to help our elderly live better a quality of life. In the  weeks that we started campaigning here, I’ve seen the disappointing types of lifestyles that some of the older people and the lower-income families here in Bukit Batok live and our Hearts for Bukit Batok programme will take care of their well-being.

While our Hearts for Bukit Batok programme is aimed at the elderly and poor, our

Pathfinder programme is designed to ensure that we develop Bukit Batok’s children and youth.

We want to provide a place where our students can come together and find mentors who can guide them and help nurture their creative impulses and develop their interests and potential. We will also provide subsidised private tuition for students from lower-income families.

Our third initiative is the Dollars and Sense programme which we anticipate will be much needed by residents who find themselves in need of financial advice in this uncertain economic climate.

Finally, we will provide legal clinics to assist those who find themselves needing legal advice but who cannot afford expensive lawyers.

Again, as you can see if you want to implement these programmes effectively and to ensure that they are benefit residents, you cannot but do it on a full-time basis.

Having spent the last 6 weeks campaigning in Bukit Batok, I am now convinced more than ever that in order to really know what you want for the town and what your concerns and worries are, there is no way to be a part-time MP.

Many residents don’t go to the Meet-The-People’s session because you have to wait for an hour or two just to see the MP. Even then, how is he going to understand your situation in just a few short minutes?

Sometimes you come to learn of these matters when they talk about them in kopitiams in the mornings: your housewives, retirees, those who have been retrenched and so on. You’ve got to be around and spend time to get to know them and listen – not just hear – but really listen to what’s on their minds. Only then can you truly see what they’re thinking and only then can you represent them when you take your seat in Parliament.

Now, do you think spending a couple of hours a week in the constituency when your full-time job is somewhere else is going to do it?

Worse, these MPs then can be appointed as directors in this, that and the other government company, allowing them to make even more money in directors’ fees and taking away even more time from the MP doing his or her job.

We’re so used to the PAP’s way of doing things that we begin to think that it’s the normand that there’s no other way, no better way to do things.

Well I’m here to tell you that this isn’t true. We need to set a new standard, a different standard, for MPs. MPs must not focus on making money but instead spend their time working on how they can better represent their constituents and attend to their needs.

Only a full-time MP can do this. As such I will not limit my Meet-The-People’s sessions to once a week. I hereby say to you that if elected, I will conduct more than one Meet-The-People’s session a week. This will shorten the waiting time of the residents in seeing the MP and allow people who are not available at night to have the flexibility of engaging the MP during the day.

To recap my pledge to you: One, I will give running the Town Council and keeping our housing estate in tip-top state my top priority. Two, I will ensure that the upgrading and installation of new amenities like a hawker centre and eldercare and chiildcare centres continue smoothly. Three, we will not engage a managing agent. Four, we will implement our social programmes to uplift the lives of residents here. And five, to achieve all this I will perform my duties as your MP on a full-time basis.

Over and above all this, you will have an MP who will speak up for you in Parliament and push the PAP to act in your interest.

For example, I will push for retrenchment insurance law that will help Singaporean retrenched workers. As the economic outlook grows bleaker by the day, our workers need protection and assistance. While the income stops the bills keep piling up and workers who have been laid off need temporary assiatnce. If Japanese, South Korean, Tawinese, Hong Kong governments can protect their workers, why can’t our government protect us?

This monrning the Ministry of Manpower took issue with me, saying that the number of jobs created for locals was not 100 as I pointed out. Instead it is 700. But 100 was the figure Mr Lim Swee Say, the Minister for Manpower, used. If the Ministry and the Minister can’t get its act together, don’t blame me.

So the figure is now 700 and not 100 jobs. Really? 700 and you want to make an issue of it? Let me put it into perspective for you how many jobs is 700. In 2014, the number of jobs for locals grew by 96,000. In 2015, it grew by only 700 – a plunge of 99 percent.

A 99 percent plunge and you want to quibble with me that it is 700 and not 100? Should we all heave a sigh of relief and celebrate?

You take a piece of rotten meat and you marinade with soy sauce and garlic and sambal balachan, its still a piece of rotten meat. Now stop trying to spin the news to make yourselves look good and start helping the people.

[Pause]

I will also push for the PAP to abolish the CPF Minimum Sum Scheme which withholds our CPF savings. As I said, the money in the CPF is our money and the Government does not have the right to retain it.

In addition, the elderly and the poor in Singapore – and those in Bukit Batok are no exception – need more, much more assistance from the state. I will press for a more caring, a more compassionate Budget to provide such assistance.

Fourthly, it is crazy for the PAP to discourage our youth who aspire to university education from pursuing a degree while it continues to spend hundreds or milliion of dollars to encourage and assist foreign students coming to our universities to study. This is one policy I cannot understand and I want the government to explain to me in Parliament.

Fifth, as I mentioned at one of our rallies, the non-transparancy of the GIC and Temasek Holdings is a very serious problem that we must address. If you elect me, I will ask for the financial statements and accounts to be made public so that experts can verify that everything is in order. Remember, the funds that the GIC and Temasek manage are all but of our money – CPF reserves, budget surpluses and so on.

We raise all these issues because even the middle-class – or the sandwiched class as we call it – is getting badly squeezed by the rising costs. Many of you, we know, cannot save because your expenses outstrip your wages.

As a result, many Singaporeaans have to work harder and harder to stay at the same

spot. This is not only a financial problem, it also exacts a social cost. A survey found that 55 percent of Singaporeans say that work demands interfere with their family time – up from 47 per cent in 2009.

The same survey show that the proportion of divorced, separated or widowed Singaporeans who said that their jobs took time away from family more than doubled to 57 percent from 25 percent over the same period.

Psychiatrists in Singapore say that up to 90 percent of their patients suffer from mental health problems caused by stress from work.

Another  survey in 2014 found that Singaporean workers are the most stressed out ones in Asia.

This is the situation we have today. The PAP takes care of itself very well and leave people like you and me to struggle. They know how to fight for their own personal wealth.

Ms Grace Fu, one of the ministers in the Jurong GRC – you can see her sometimes coming for walkabouts here campaigning for Mr Murali – warned that if you cut ministers’ pay it will make it harder for her and her PAP colleagues to serve in the cabinet. Her actual words were – Quote. If the balance is tilted further in the future (against the ministers), it will make it harder for any one considering political office. Unquote

You see, they know how to protect their own salaries. But when it comes to you and I, they will tell us that the government doesn’t owe us a living.

Politics is about serving the people, not about getting rich. If we lose the sense of public service, that spirit of sacrifice and keep thinking of how much I am worth or could be making in the private sector, then the future of this country is in grave danger.

To me, it is important that political leaders imbibe this spirit. Of course, we should not underpay our public servants because that would lead to corruption but if we constantly demand that our political leaders pay ourselves so much otherwise they won’t serve the nation then we are corrupting the spirit of public service and sacrifice.

My friends, I ask for your vote because I know that I can be better MP to represent Bukit

Batok than Mr Murali. I say this not because we’re boastful but because we have put it years of training and developing our ideas so that even the PAP is now following our lead.

A good example of this is that Mr Murali has recently proposed a student mentorship programme for the youth in Bukit Batok. This is not unlike what the SDP had proposed in our Pathfinder programme.

We proposed our Pathfinder programme right at the beginning of the election and Mr Murali only yesterday. Now don’t get me wring, I’m not saying that the PAP cannot propose the a similar programme.

I am saying is that the PAP is not better than the SDP when it comes to ideas and competence. The SDP does not take a back seat to the PAP when it comes to capability whether it be taking care of the Town Council or running programmes for the town or coming up with ideas to help Singapore.

In fact, we have been taking the lead in coming up with initiatives and plans for Bukit Batok and in this student mentorship programme we are pleased that the PAP thinks its a good idea and have followed suit.

We do all these because SDP is always looking to stay ahead of the curve. We believe that Bukit Batok needs a competent leadership to manage its affairs and you have the perfect opportunity in this by-election to elect a competent party into Parliament.

I also want to point out to you that the SDP is not just a competent party but a responsible one. Where the PAP acts in the interest of Singaporeans, SDP will not be afraid to welcome it and support it.

For example, the PAP wanted to build eldercare centres in Toh Yi estate, the government wanted to install solar panels on rooftop, and recently the Ministry of Education said that children should be involved in cleaning their classrooms and surroundings.

The SDP supported the PAP on these initiatives and we said so publicly. That’s the hallmark of a competent and constructive party. We oppose policies that are bad for the people and support them when they are good.

And when we criticse PAP’s policies, we don’t stop there. We propose alternative ideas. In other words, we don’t oppose for opposition’s sake.

For example, as I mentioned in the last rally, we say that the high cost of land is making HDB flats too expensive and shop and office rental too high leading to closure of businesses which means retrenchment of our workers.

But we don’t stop there. We have come up with an idea to lower this cost. In our Housing paper, we said that the government should introduce Non-Open Market flats where BTO flats are sold at a price that does not include the cost of land.

This will instantly make the cost of HDB flats affordable for younger home buyers. At the same time, existing HDB flat owners can continue to buy and sell their flats in the open market if they don’t wish to participate in the NOM scheme.

Economic experts have praised this proposal.

We have come up with proposals not just for public housing in Singapore but also for healthcare, education, the economy. If you visit our website, you will see all these papers published in full.

Why do we do this? Because we are a contructive party. For years, the PAP tried to brand us as a totally destructive opposition party opposed to Singapore. Those were the days before the Internet and social media. It said that we were out to destroy Singapore. That, of course, was propaganda at its worst and most vicious.

Bukit Batok, ask yourself this question: Why would you want to elect someone to represent you in Parliament when you already have 81 PAP MPs to say the same thing and vote the same way in Parliament?

The only reason why you would want Mr Murali to represent you is because he says he will take good care of Bukit Batok. But, as I have laid out, the SDP can take even better care of you and your estate. On this, you have absolutely nothing to worry about.

Why is it important for the SDP to be in Parliament? Because everytime you get more opposition in Parliament, the PAP is pushed to act in your interest, in your favour.

In other words, electing the SDP has all the upsides with no downsides.

[Pause]

There’s also something important that I want to say to you at this later stage. As we wrap up this campaign and the cooling off day looms, I fear that the PAP will be up to its usual tricks. It’s been a disappointing campaign and the PAP has spared no effort in engaging in the most revolting and vicious type of gutter politics.

The worst is Mr Lee Hsien Loong using a made up headline from the Lianhe Wanbao to attack me. How low does the PAP want to go?

But even as I cannot rebut these accusations on cooling off day, the newspapers are free to attack me as they are not bound by the rules of cooling-off days. You can be sure that they will use the opportunity to attack me.

For example, they will raise the Chiam See Tong issue again. Yes, from out of the blue, someone, somewhere will post something about the matter and tomorrow the newspapers will all report it. The purpose is to turn you aganist me.

Please don’t fall for this, my friends. I ask you all to be my eyes and ears and voice to tell your friends and neighbours not to believe the newspapers who are helping Mr Murali to get elected by spreading untrue accusations about me.

[Pause]

You probably have seen the card that we’ve dropped into your homes. It says Now is the time to take your dreams, hopes and aspirations to Parliament. I mean every word of it.

We did that because we wanted to run a postive campaign. I want to tell you that we’ll fight for you and start building a society where we are not just invisible digits in the system but, rather, citizens whose views matter.

I ask for your vote in this by-election so that we can make Bukit Batok an even better place to live in and build for ourselves a future full of hope and confidence.

I want to appeal to hope, not fear because hope allows us to aspire to bigger and better things. Fear makes us all smaller and more inward-looking.

I want to stir the creative and innovation instincts that the PAP has so brutally killed off becaue it is creativity and innovation that will allow us to flourish as a people.

I want to reach into our souls and find that compassionate people I know that we are so that we don’t just build roads and skyscrapers but also bridges to a future society that makes us a caring people.

This is the vision I have for Singapore and I want to start it here with you here in Bukit Batok

But this much I will promise you: you will have an MP who will wake up every morning thinking about how I can make your lives that little bit better, someone who will work his guts out for you and someone who will dedicate his time to making Bukit Batok the best town to live in Singapore.

I don’t want to be just another MP who just writes letters for you during the Meet-The-People’s session or who comes around on weekends to shake your hands and be seen to be one of you.

I want to be a friend, someone whom you can talk to. Someone who’s around to listen and in listening understand what you are going through. Someone who is not just in Parliament for you but also among you, with you so that what you feel, I feel; what you think, I think.

Someone who will look out for you, who has your back.

I want to be this kind of MP. If you want this kind of an MP, if you want this kind of Bukit Batok – a caring, confident town which is the envy of Singapore – then I ask you to vote for the SDP, vote for me.

Let’s make this happen, let’s make Bukit Batok happen. Now is the time.

I’ve travelled a long way and the road ahead is long and hard. But you know what? I’m not tired. I’m not tired because everytime I see you whether it is in the kopitiam or at the MRT station or in just walk by and I see your faces light up and you tell me thank you for speaking up, it makes me feel that everything is worth it.

It’s been a gruelling campaign but somehow Bukit Batok has become a part of me. It’ll be a strange feeling for me when I wake tomorrow and I don’t come here as I have for the past weeks.

But I feel that I have not just run a campaign, I feel that I have come to know a community. You’ve welcomed me into your homes, the lovely mum who bought me kueh lapis, the makcik who bought me drinks, the charming lady who gave me yeo sim drink, the ah ma who bought me coffee packs and said “Hor le lim peng ann”.

The guys and the uncles? The guys and the uncles are a little different. You offered me Tiger and Heineken. But you also accompany that with an hearty “I support you!”

To the group of Malay retirees I want to say: I have met you, a group of Malay pensioners at Block 54, and also to all people that I have met in the coffee shops, with a sincere heart, I want to thank you for accepting me in Bukit Batok. The warm and friendly reception is the hospitable attitude of Malay community. Thanks for all. Chat conversation end(Buat sekum-pulan pesara-pesara Melayu yang telah berjumpa de-ngan saya di Block 54 dan juga kepada semua yang telah saya te-mu-ii di kedai kopi Orang Orang, dengan hati yang tulus, saya ingin me-ngu-cap-kan terima kasih kerana sudi me-nerima saya di Bukit Batok. Sikap mesra dan ramah adalah sikap ma-sya-rakat Melayu kita. Ri-buan Terima kasih buat semua.)

To all of you I say thank you.

Whatever happens on Saturday, a part of me will always be here, my heart will always be here.

Vote for the SDP. Now is the time.

Thank you, Bukit Batok, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.

武吉巴督补选相关链接

  1. 《人民呼声论坛》:民主党输了吗?输了什么?!行动党赢了吗?赢了什么?!

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/10/

  1. 《人民呼声论坛》:《哪怕前进的道路是多么的艰苦,我还会继续昂首挺胸往前走》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/

  1. 《我们必须依靠善良的人民攀越这座高山……我们一定能够攀越巴督山(马来语BUKIT BATOK即,武吉巴督,)

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/07/

  1. 《人民呼声论坛》:《行动党长期控制和主导竞选课题的主导权在傅海燕的“白猫黑猫论”宣告结束了!!》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/05/

5.   《人民呼声论坛》:《MURUAH就武吉巴督补选发表声明》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/

6.   《人民呼声论坛》:《徐顺全博士:请投选一位在25年前就已经选择留守新加坡的候选人》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/

7.   《人民呼声论坛》:《淡巴雅教授:行动党对管理武吉巴督已经失去方向。

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/

8.     《人民呼声论坛》:《淡巴雅教授回应李显龙对民主党的指责! 》https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/05/01/

9.     《人民呼声论坛》:《行动党的爷们和婆娘们,火急了吧?还有更新的关于徐顺全博士料可以爆的吗?》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/04/30/

10.  《人民呼声论坛》:《新加坡民主党负责人淡巴雅医生发表声明:所有的政府机构都不隶属于任何政党!》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/04/26/

  1. 《人民呼声论坛》:《莫为浮云遮望远! ——行动党又重施后港区补选的伎俩说明了什么?》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/04/24/

12.  《人民呼声论坛》:《李显龙,除了柏墨、许宝坤、张有福、王金发、姆拉里……还有嫩鸟吗?》

https://renminglishiziliaoaku.wordpress.com/2016/04/23/

13.  《人民论坛》:《李光耀是新加坡人民抗日、反殖民主义与争取独立斗争时期的 最大走狗、叛徒和内奸!》

https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/

14.   《人民论坛》:《(中/英文版)王惠楠医生告诉历史的真相:一个具有近代历史意义的事件 Wong Wee Nam: “A near-historic moment”》

https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/22/

15.   《人民论坛》:《鹤蚌不相争、渔翁须下地——武吉巴督补选的行动党举步艰辛!》

 https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/21/

16.               《人民论坛》:《犯不着费劲去劝阻任何“有贤之士”参加武吉巴督区的补选!》

https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/15/

17.   《人民论坛》:《(中/英文版本)民主党武吉巴督补选候选人徐顺全博士: 有效率的市镇会是民主党的首要任务 Chee announces candidacy: Effective TC management top priority》

https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/20/

18.   《人民论坛》:《(中/英文版)民主党主席黄素芝博士宣布有关决定参与武吉巴督区补选候选人的决定 Dr Wong Souk Yee: SDP DECIDED TO CONTEST IN BUKIT BATOK BY-ELECTION》

     https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/03/20/

19.   《人民论坛》:《制造挑起种族猜疑与不和挽救不了行动党目前的政治困境!》https://wangruirong.wordpress.com/2016/04/04/

 

 

 

 

 

